Summer fun

There’s something about the long sunshine-filled [most of the time] days of summer that just doesn’t inspire me to sit down with my laptop and write. For sure, there’s a lot to write about. I get stacks of inspiration from fun days out, new places we’ve found, delicious recipes we’ve tried. The words dance around in my mind but in all honesty I rarely get round to putting them to paper. So I guess my feeble excuse for not posting a blog post here for a while is that I’ve just been busy… living!

And really, it’s been a great summer so far.

We celebrated our second wedding anniversary with a weekend in London; feeling super-sophisticated at a South African ballet at Sadler’s Wells, relaxing in the sunshine at Clissold Park, exploring the amazing markets of Brick Lane and Old Spitalfields, sampling one too many snacks from the street food vendors. It was beautifully relaxed, and perfectly us. I love that we don’t have to go out to the most expensive restaurant to make an occasion special, but just to do something that we really enjoy. I think it’s the best way!

We gained a new teeny tiny relative as our cousin and his wife had their first baby, a beautiful little boy called Abel. He’s absolutely gorgeous, and they’re going to make brilliant parents. We can’t wait to meet him soon.

We went on a treetop adventure with Go Ape, finally using a voucher that my sister bought us ages ago. In comparison to the last time I went, on a very soggy June day for my hen do, it was beautifully warm and all-round perfect for swinging through the trees! If you’ve never done it before, it genuinely is a huge amount of fun. We had a picnic in Swinley Forest with all kinds of gourmet snacks after [no scotch eggs here!] and it was just one of the best days we’d had in ages.

We enjoyed lots of catch ups with great friends, and there’s plenty more to come! This weekend we’re off to the first of 4 weddings that we’ve got this summer, and because it’s in Manchester it means we get to catch up with two different sets of friends at once. Bonus! I’ve also got a beautiful polka dot dress to wear that I picked up in an Emily and Fin sample sale in Shoreditch. Should be lots of fun.

IMG_6799

IMG_6798

IMG_6792

IMG_6787

IMG_6786

IMG_6785

IMG_6774

There’s also been one other, huge thing that has taken up a lot of time, energy and head space over the past few weeks. It’s been a bit of a whirlwind, but life is looking pretty exciting right now. Keep an eye out for my next blog post where I’ll share all!

Happy summer everyone x

Leave a Reply

